Sign In Forgot Password

CIS 47th Annual Tribute and Benefit Dinner

On Wednesday evening, March 30th, over 200 members of the Congregation Israel of Springfield (CIS) gathered at Crystal Plaza to recognize six distinguished community leaders. Attendees were treated to a celebratory evening which featured an interactive and entertaining program, a delectable smorgasbord and sit-down dinner, and fun photo activation capturing memorable moments from the event.
The dinner paid tribute to Guest of Honor Harry Czinn, recipient of the Rabbi Israel E. Turner Memorial Award, in recognition of his service to Congregation Israel. Since moving with his family to Springfield 30 years ago, Harry Czinn has been an unmistakable presence at CIS, working tirelessly to advance our Shul’s mission in myriad ways. One of our Shul’s most popular Shlichei Tzibbur, Harry is equally valued for his contributions as a masterful networker and fundraiser dedicated to promoting the growth of our Kehillah. Harry’s impact on CIS can be seen through his role in establishing the Shul’s successful High Holiday Aliyah Auction, as the co-chair of the High Holiday Seating Committee, through his acts of chesed delivering meal to Holocaust survivors with Jewish Family Services and with his annual Kiddushes on Shabbos Shuva and the first Shabbos Pesach.
Clara Harelik Mevorah was the recipient of this year’s Aishet Chayil Award in recognition of her long-standing commitment to CIS and the larger Springfield community, previously serving as the town’s Mayor. Clara has followed in the footsteps of her parents who were among the first CIS members and she is particularly proud to receive this award a decade after her beloved mother was honored with the Aishet Chayil Award at the 2012 CIS Dinner.
In recognition of his years as a dedicated member of Congregation Israel’s daily Hashkama minyan and his support of Shul Kiddushes as well as managing the weekly Yad Leah donation program, Les Mandel was honored with the Edward Konigsberg Memorial Award.
This year’s Young Leadership honorees were Chana and Akiva Horowitz. Chana co-chairs the youth department and is one of the founders of the annual CIS Yom Chesed event, while Akiva serves on the Religious committee and as a Shul Gabbai.
Finally, Ariella Konigsberg was the recipient of the Joseph Tammam Memorial Youth Community Service Scholarship Award. A fourth generation Springfield resident, Ariella has a deep connection to CIS and plays an active role in giving back to the community as a senior youth group leader.
Congregation Israel of Springfield, under the dynamic leadership of Rabbi Chaim Marcus, provides a multitude of opportunities for community members to engage in Torah learning, community service, and family-friendly activities. Congregation Israel continues to be a warm and inviting synagogue for members of all-ages.
Fri, September 30 2022 5 Tishrei 5783